Dark synth-pop icons Soft Cell release first track in 15 years, ‘Northern Lights’

Written by Maya-Rose Torrão

The iconic UK synth-pop duo made up of Marc Almond and David Ball, Soft Cell, who brought us immortal hits such as ‘Tainted Love’, are back for the first time in a decade and a half. The pair have just shared their new single, titled ‘Northern Lights’, which is their first release since the 2002 album ‘Cruelty Without Beauty’. The track is taken from a new compilation called ‘The Singles – Keychains & Snowstorms’, which is scheduled to be released September 28 via Universal Music Catalogue. The compilation will include a second new song called ‘Guilty (‘Cos I Say You Are’),’ as well as favourites like ‘Tainted Love,’ ‘Say Hello Wave Goodbye,’ and many more.

‘The Singles’ compilation is paired with a forthcoming career-spanning box set called ‘Keychains & Snowstorms: The Soft Cell Story,’ which will be released September 7 via Universal Music Catalogue. The 10-disc set includes 9 CDs and a DVD that features over four hours of footage.

Soft Cell will also be playing a farewell reunion concert next month at London O2 in celebration of their 40th anniversary. The group explained, “This last ever final show will be the best ever ending. It will be a real statement and send off, and thank you to every fan.”

In a press release, Marc Almond described Soft Cell’s latest track as “a celebration of our roots in northern soul.” The track’s lyrics also reference the Northern Soul movement – complete with references to Stoke’s classic Golden Torch club and Manchester’s Twisted Wheel.

Listen to Soft Cell’s new track ‘Northern Lights’ below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *