Top 20 Albums of 2018 That Broke The Boundaries Of Electronic Music

By Jenna Dreisenstock

2018 has been quite a year, with many exceptional releases stunning fans with brand news innovations and experimentations in sound, style and personality. From experimental avant-pop, to dreamy R&B inspired synth-love; the music world has sculpted an incredibly diverse experience for all.

We’ve compiled a list of our top 20 album from 2018 that have left us in pure musical bliss.

As per usual, this list is in no particular order. Right-click on the artwork: ‘Open link in new tab‘ and you’ll be directed straight to iTunes to stream and purchase the album!

SOPHIE – ‘Oil of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides

Released: June 15th

Label: MSMSMSM/Future Classic












Tim Hecker – ‘Konoyo

Released: September 28th

Label: Kranky












Aphex Twin – ‘T69 Collapse’

Released: September 14th

Label: Warp Records












Lotic – ‘Power

Released: July 13th

Label: Tri Angle












DJ Koze – ‘Knock Knock’

Released: May 4th













Geotic – ‘Traversa

Released: October 19th

Label: Ghostly International












Devon Welsh – ‘Dream Songs’

Released: Aug 24th

Label: You Are Accepted












Leon Vynehall – ‘Nothing Is Still’

Released: June 15th

Label: Ninja Tune












Yves Tumor – ‘Safe In The Hands Of Love’

Released: September 7th

Label: Warp Records












Jon Hopkins – ‘Singularity’

Released: May 4th

Label: Domino Recording Co Ltd












IGLOOGHOST – ‘Clear Tamei & Steel Mogu’ (EPs)

Released: Aug 8, 2018

Label: Gloo









Dorian Concept – ‘The Nature of Imitation’

Released: August 3rd

Label: Brainfeeder












Steve Hauschildt – ‘Dissolvi’

Released: August 3rd

Label: Ghostly International












Trevor Something – ‘ULTRAPARANOIA’

Released: October 12th

Label: In Your Brain LLC












Okzharp & Manthe Ribane – ‘Closer Apart’

Released: July 6th

Label: Hyperdub












Nils Frahm – ‘All Melody’

Released: January 26th

Label: Erased Tapes Records Ltd.












Lori Scacco – ‘Desire Loop’

Released: July 6th

Label: Mysteries of the Deep












Max Cooper – ‘One Hundred Billion Sparks’

Released: September 20th

Label: MESH












Robyn – ‘Honey’

Released: October 26th

Label: Konichiwa Records (exclusive license to Interscope Records)












Peggy Gou – ‘Once’ (EP)

Released: March 2018

Label: Ninja Tune












What are your favourite albums from 2018? Let us know!

We absolutely can’t wait to see what 2019 will bringhappy festive season to all!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *