NEWS: New Order announces compilation from their productions, Be Music

The Factory Records set includes production work for artists like A Certain Ratio and Factory Floor.
New Order are releasing a new compilation on Factory Records next year showing off their production work.

Be Music was the catch-all tag the pioneering UK band used in the early ’80s for the individual members’ production work with other artists. Some of the projects that Bernard Sumner, Peter Hook, Stephen Morris and Gillian Gilbert worked on in the early ’80s, along with A Certain Ratio’s Donald “Dojo” Johnson, included Quando Quango, Marcel King, Thick Pigeon, Paul Haig and 52nd Street, encompassing some early dance music and electro classics.

The three-disc compilation collects a number of these older tracks, as well as more recent remixes of bands like Factory Floor and Fujiya & Miyagi. There’s also “Knew Noise” by Section 25, which Ian Curtis and Rob Gretton worked on together in the Joy Division days, along with the full 22-minute version of New Order’s “Video 586.” The vinyl version gathers up 12 tracks, while the full three-disc version has 36. The liner notes include commentary from New Order members and the featured artists.

Listen to Quando Quango’s “Love Tempo.”


CD 1:
01. Quando Quango – Love Tempo
02. Marcel King – Reach For Love
03. 52nd Street – Cool As Ice
04. Section 25 – Looking From A Hilltop (Megamix)
05. Nyam Nyam – Fate/Hate
06. The Beat Club – Security (Remix)
07. Paul Haig – The Only Truth
08. Shark Vegas
09. Marcel King
10. Section 25 – Reflection
11. Quando Quango – Tingl
12. Surprise – Over Italia

CD 2:
01. 52nd Street – Can’t Afford
02. Thick Pigeon – Babcock + Wilcox
03. A Certain Ratio – Bootsy (Swingfire Mix)
04. Factory Floor – ~ (Real Love)
05. Section 25 – Another Hilltop
06. The Other Two – Inside
07. Marnie – The Hunter (Remix)
08. Fujiya & Miyagi – Daggers (Remix)
09. Tim Burgess – Oh Men (02 Remix)
10. Factory Floor – A Wooden Box (Remix)
11. Life – Tell Me
12. Life – Tell Me (Theme)

CD 3:
01. Peter Hook – Lavolta Lakota Theme
02. Section 25 – Knew Noise
03. Stockholm Monsters – All At Once
04. The Royal Family & The Poor – Motherland
05. Winston Tong – Theoretical China
06. The Beat Club – Security (Dub)
07. Marcel King – Reach For Love (US Mix)
08. Thick Pigeon – Jess + Bart (Remix)
09. Red Turns To – Deep Sleep
10. Ad Infinitum – Telstar
11. Section 25 – Sakura
12. New Order – Video 586

Factory Records will release Be Music on February 17th, 2017.

Label: Factory Records

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *