All-Star Tactus Tempus Synth Collaboration Dropping Next Week

No fewer than nine leading musicians – including Floating Points, Dan Snaith (Caribou), Jeremy Greenspan (Junior Boys) and James Shaw (Simian Mobile Disco) – have been recruited by Hot Chip’s Joe Goddard to record a performance of Frank McCarty’s score, Tactus Tempus.

The album, comprised of two 15-minute pieces of music, was recorded in July 2016 and will be released on Bandcamp (via Geej Recordings) on March 17th.

The original Tactus Tempus was a graphic-based work performed by McCarty’s group BIOME on 5 EMS Synthi synthesizers – and, according to a Pitchfork report, each player on this updated version used a separate synthesiser or modular synthesiser system, while the original slides from McCarty’s work were projected onto the wall.

A tremendously exciting release for fans of experimental synth-based music, check out the cover art designs below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *