US electronic musician DAWN (FKA Dawn Richards) announces new album, shares single, ‘new breed’

Dawn Richard, well-known for her solo musical work as well as her work as a founding member of Danity Kane, has just announced the release of her new album under the moniker DAWN, titled ‘new breed’, available on 25th January 2019 via UK label Local Action. DAWN has also shared the title-track from her forthcoming LP, an RnB-infused piece of attitude-filled electronica.

The latest album is self-produced for the most part, and features contributions from Hudson Mohawke, Cole M.G.N and Kaveh Rastegar. DAWN’s label are calling it “the most intimate portrait of DAWN’s life so far,” The ‘new breed’ LP also includes the track ‘jealousy’ which DAWN has previously shared, along with a music video featuring Chief Montana of the Washitaw Nation. DAWN is currently touring with her highly successful pop group Danity Kane.

With the announcement of her brand new album, DAWN shared an emotional and personal Facebook post:

it’s been 3 years since i’ve released the heart trilogy. i debated about putting out another project because being indie is not easy. i went back home to new orleans and realized how much this city has shaped me into the woman i am and how much i missed the girl i was before the industry shit. New Orleans has been so much more than just a city for me. I will never forget the day she was ripped from us and we lost everything in one day. Our city has made us strong. I survived this industry, assault, misogyny, racism, homelessness, and so much more because we were taught to be warriors like the black indians in our family before us. to dance and sing through our pain.
so here is a small project about what it means to be a ninth ward girl from jonlee before the industry shit.
special thanks to chief montana and the washitaw nation for making this hand sewn mardi gras indian crown for this project.
pre order now
out everywhere Jan 25

Listen to DAWN’s brand new single, ‘New Breed’, below.

‘new breed’ Tracklist:
01 the nine (intro)
02 new breed
03 spaces
04 dreams and converse
05 shades
06 jealousy
07 sauce
08 vultures | wolves
09 we, diamonds
10 ketchup and po boys (outro)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *