Highlights from 2017’s AIM Awards

The 7th annual AIM Awards took place on Tuesday, September 5th 2017.

Running on seven years now, the AIM Awards have been honoured by a vast portion of exceptionally talented and creative artists, labels and industry figures including:

Björk, Stormzy, Adele, The Prodigy, London Grammar, Richie Hawtin, Wolf Alice, First Aid Kit, Alt-J, SBTRKT, Daughter, Alcopop!, 4AD, Hyperdub, Transgressive, Geoff Travis (Rough Trade), Martin Mills (Beggars Group), Daniel Miller (Mute), Laurence Bell (Domino) and many more!

This year some exciting things happened:


Planet Mu, British electronic music record label run by Mike Paradinas (also known as µ-Ziq) won the category for BEST SMALL LABEL. A an extremely well deserved accomplishment and triumph for Planet Mu, who have been home to artists such as Ceephax, Burial, Jlin, µ-Ziq, Duran Duran Duran, Antwood, Venetian Snares just to name a few.




Indiana’s electronic/IDM extraordinaire Jlin (and Planet Mu resident) has won the award for BEST DIFFICULT SECOND ALBUM with her latest offering Black Origami, released on May 19th 2017, featuring collaborations with artists such as William Basinski, Holly Herndon, Fawkes and Dope Saint Jude.




Also worth mentioning, acclaimed American producer DJ Shadow took the spot for INDEPENDENT VIDEO OF THE YEAR, with ‘Nobody Speak (feat. Run The Jewels)’, as well as London-based indie-pop band The xx, taking the award for INDEPENDENT TRACK OF THE YEAR, with their song ‘On Hold’.

2017 was indeed a special year for the AIM Awards and all those involved. We can only imagine what lies ahead for future ceremonies. Congratulations to all the artists, labels and industry icons who make the world of electronic music a comfortable yet enthralling one.

For a complete list of AIM Awards’ 2017 nominees, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *