Single Review: Four Tet’s Honeyed, Playful Dance In ‘Baby’

Four Tet | Baby (single) | Sixteen Oceans (upcoming)

Release Date: 23 January, 2020

English musician and producer Kieran Hebden, known under his moniker Four Tet – hardly needs an introduction, known as one of the most hard-working and beloved electronic artists to grace the music world. Collaborating with a myriad of iconic artists throughout his career, along with an extensive catalogue of solo releases showcasing a variety of styles (while remaining true to his musical character) new offerings by Four Tet rarely disappoint.

Following his previous LP release ‘New Energy‘ in 2017, a collaborative release ‘Anna Painting’ in 2019: a collection of three songs with painter Anna Liber Lewis – plus a collection of live EPs – the artist has announced the upcoming release of a brand new LP entitled ‘Sixteen Oceans’, with the release marking the artists tenth studio album.

The first single to feature on the upcoming album ‘Teenage Birdsong’ was released in 2019 – with his latest single ‘Baby’, featuring English musician Ellie Goulding, starring as the second single premiere from the upcoming album of 16 tracks – scheduled for released on the 20th of March, 2020.

A tender bubbling and friendly chime opens ‘Baby’ – a saccharine heartbeat cradles the atmospheric soundscape, with Goulding’s vocal samples peering through the delicately layered timbres in a playful cut-and-paste style – her honeyed tone glitching in a gradual upbeat dance. Swirling in harmony with her vocals, the rosy claps of the underlying beat glow with buoyancy – segueing into passage filled with anticipating ambience, Goulding’s vocals reverberating between the airy, emotive synths. Aqua ripples flow smoothly in a meditative unwind, as birds chirp melodiously – Goulding’s shimmering vocal cuts gliding the track into leisurely, swaying close.

Below is the full tracklist for the upcoming album:

01. School
02. Baby
03. Harpsichord
04. Teenage Birdsong
05. Romantics
06. Love Salad
07. Insect Near Piha Beach
08. Hi Hello
09. ISTM
10. Something In The Sadness
11. 1993 Band Practice
12. Green
13. Bubbles At Overlook 25th March 2019
14. 4T Recordings
15. This Is For You
16. Mama Teaches Sanskrit

For more information follow Four Tet on Facebook
Rating: 7 / 10

Feature Image: Four Tet / Press Photo